you know you want this.

Phantom Hands

She let it sit there
For seventeen years at least.
The piano in the corner, that is.
Dad played it.
I played it.
And she listened as
She washed the dishes.

So when I heard the simple chords
Emerge from the keys
Like phantom chords without a hand
And saw her there, concentrating on the notes
Like a focused child
I was confused.

I think hearing that song on the old radio
Reawakened her need to play the piano.
She says now that she never had the time.
Does she have no time because
All I do is type at the computer
Or because
She, after seventeen years
Made time?

She wants to be the one on the radio
Laughing with every arpeggio and octave jump.
It took her this long
But maybe she realized
That music can do a lot to change one’s mood?
Maybe it won’t cure her fibromyalgia,
But it might make her forget
Just for a little bit
And make her dream that she’s
The pianist on the radio.

3 responses

  1. Kristen

    I like this.
    It had a very real feeling to it. I like the image “Like phantom chords without a hand”. There are a lot of cool images in this poem.
    I also really like the theme about music, its power, and ability to bring you higher. Very nice.
    The only thing I would encourage you with this poem, is to make the ideas in it more tangible. Maybe even make the point of it a little clearer, give us something real to hang on to and take with us in our lives. You did that to a certain extent, the charachter your talking about is relatable, but could be so much more if you made the ideas your presenting, more upfront. Maybe dedicate a stanza to the power of music, slip your own experiences in it, or a common feeling. I hope that makes sense. Nice work, the words and images really rolled off my tongue.
    Keep it up. I want to read more!

    January 4, 2009 at 7:08 pm

  2. Who is the narwhal in the picture? the girl I mean. I just want to know because that is amazing and I think I just found a new favorite person~ ^^; I love narwhals~

    May 24, 2011 at 2:14 am

    • artemis0again

      Confused Narwhal? is my business, and so when I went to a convention, there was a girl dressed as a narwhal (you don’t see that everyday lol). She’s awesome, right? And I’m glad you love narwhals. Keep the love going.

      May 24, 2011 at 2:23 am

Leave a Reply

