you know you want this.

Aside

woman’s right…

woman’s rights advocacy campaign

sometimes i want to strip
in the middle of the student union. just
stand there naked as a testament.

this is my body, i’d say. and i would break
each limb until I was limp. I would look
into their eyes like street vendor preachers—
I do this in rememberance of you.

I would lay on the student union floor
and people would walk
over my body. they would step
carefully, they’d notice
my purpled skin then talk
about their chem. test. the janitors
would touch my body with their mop
heads, gentle provocation. it’s time
to wake up now. it’s time to accept
the way they are and walk forward.

This is an entry for the Mookychick blogging competition, FEMINIST FLASH FICTION 2011. Enter now.

(“FEMINIST FLASH FICTION 2011. Enter now” should link to http://bit.ly/femflash)

Leave a Reply

